Puffed Rice Upma

27 Aug

mamra_upma

Maramarala Upma/ Mamra Upma/ Burugulu Upma

Ingredients:

Puffed Rice 6-8 cups
Red Onion 1
Green Chillies 5
Turmeric powder a pinch
Dalia powder 1 tsp
Salt to taste

Talimpu:

Chana dal 1 tsp
Urad dal 1 tsp
Cumin seeds 1/2 tsp
Mustard seeds 1/2 tsp
Broken red chillies 4
Curry leaves 4
Oil 1 tbsp

Method of preparation:

Remove stems, wash and halve the chillies.
Chop onion finely.
Soak puffed rice in water for a minute or less.
Squeeze the water slightly out of the soaked rice and keep aside.

Heat oil in a wok, add all talimpu ingredients in order.
When chana dal turns light brown, add halved green chillies and chopped onion.
When onion becomes translucent, add puffed rice, turmeric powder, dalia powder and salt.
Mix thoroughly and serve hot with a squeeze of lemon.

Notes: Don’t soak puffed rice too long which destroys the whole recipe. I prefer using transparent puffed rice rather than the opaque ones especially for this upma.

18 Responses to “Puffed Rice Upma”

  1. Anonymous August 27, 2007 at 9:14 am #

    Looks so good. I have never had this before, I plan to try it before long.

  2. Asha August 27, 2007 at 9:24 am #

    You know in the weekend whenever I run out of I make either this or Rava Uppittu!:))
    Looks delicious Anusha.

  3. Rajitha August 27, 2007 at 9:36 am #

    wow anusha.. this one is a cool recipe. never made it this way!…

  4. Ashwini August 27, 2007 at 10:25 am #

    This recipe is so new to me. I use puffed rice in bhel but adding dalia powder and making an upma is cool. Will try and let you know

  5. Mamatha August 27, 2007 at 11:15 am #

    Wow Anusha,

    Yesterday only I prepared this for breakfast but again carving for some after seeing Your’s 😛

  6. Madhu August 27, 2007 at 1:03 pm #

    Simple and tasty recipe……..Love puffed rice.

  7. Pooja August 27, 2007 at 7:30 pm #

    Hi,
    I love this dish, easy to make, light and there always place for a couple of more spoons. Try this with addition of finely chopped tomatoes and garlic. tastes heavnly.

  8. Lakshmi August 27, 2007 at 9:33 pm #

    quick to make and delicious. I serve this with chilli bonda it tastes yumm…

  9. cc.johnson:mumbai August 30, 2007 at 9:30 am #

    hearing this 4 the 1st time……. time to try…..

  10. sharmi August 30, 2007 at 12:46 pm #

    this is so different from usual. I only make chats out of murmuras. this is nice and for a change real good.

  11. sushma September 12, 2007 at 12:19 am #

    Hi I love this recipe.. will give it a try. thnxs for sharing

  12. ksivani September 24, 2007 at 11:50 am #

    I loved the concept, and so we tried it over the week-end. It was a wonderful success (compliments to you) and so it ended up as one of my first few entries on my food blog.

    Thank you for the recipe – I look forward to a lot of browsing through your archives in future.

  13. ksivani September 26, 2007 at 11:25 am #

    Thank you for the kind words on my blog, Raji.

    About the size of the pictures: do you feel the pictures themselves are too small, or that not enough of the food can be seen in the picture?

    I am still playing around with framing and cropping – I’ve never really photographed food before. If it is just the picture size that is too small though, you can click on the image and the full size one (huge) will open.

    Thanks again for the encouragement – coming from an expert like you it means a lot to me.

  14. anuradha October 25, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    hi, why u always add URAD DAL in all the items in Talimpu section (Talimpu:

    Chana dal 1 tsp
    Urad dal 1 tsp)

  15. Tez January 17, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    My favorite… I remember u cookin the first time I ate…

  16. drpvsraju August 21, 2011 at 4:21 am #

    i am retired person .i am making cooking as my hobby.i read lot of books on cooking.after marriage i missed my mother’s recipies.my wife cooks well but to the taste of her family background.now i found the site where i could get my mother’s recipies.thansk a lot for u.may god bless u.

  17. sonali August 28, 2012 at 4:51 am #

    I like it……….time to try

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ruchi chūchu - September 24, 2007

    Light Breakfast

    One of our favorite breakfasts is a poha and potato pulihora, so when we were browsing through the JFI for Rice roundup on Sharmi’s blog, Neivedyam, there was one preparation that loudly called out: “Make me, taste me!” This…

Leave a Reply

