Plantain with Spinach

15 Aug

arati_bacchali

Aratikaya Bacchali Kura

Ingredients:

Plantain 3
Malabar Spinach/ Ceylon Spinach 10-15 leaves
Tamarind 1 1/2 inch sized ball
Sesame seeds 2 tbsps
Mustard seeds 1 tbsp
Cumin seeds 1/2 tbsp
Dried red chillies 5
Oil 2 tbsps
Salt to taste

Method of preparation:

Peel and chop plantains into one inch cubes. Soak them in water and keep aside.
Wash Indian spinach thoroughly and chop roughly.

Heat oil in a pan, add chopped plantain cubes.
Cook covered until the plantain becomes tender without loosing its shape.
Then add chopped spinach and saute until it wilts.

Grind sesame seeds, mustard seeds, red chillies, cumin seeds and salt into fine powder.
Add ground mustard seeds powder to the cooked plantain and spinach.

Stir fry for a minute or two and serve with cooked rice.

Notes:
Microwave or pressure cook the plantains in case they are hard to yield.

12 Responses to “Plantain with Spinach”

  1. shammi August 15, 2007 at 5:47 am #

    Wow, this is a recipe I MUST try next time I have plantains available!

  2. coffee August 15, 2007 at 5:59 am #

    Now how did you think of such a combo!! Looks great. 🙂

  3. richa August 15, 2007 at 6:01 am #

    looks awesome, lovely combo!
    Happy Independence Day!

  4. Poonam August 15, 2007 at 6:34 am #

    Thats something unheard of! Great recipe

  5. Asha August 15, 2007 at 6:35 am #

    Happy I day Anusha!:))
    Great combo, next time when I get Plantains, I will try!:)

  6. sia August 15, 2007 at 6:49 am #

    pity that we dont get malbar spinach here 😦 never would have thought of combining it with plaintain…beautiful pic as usual

  7. Lata August 15, 2007 at 8:55 am #

    Happy I-day Anusha,

    Just the other day my colleague asked me to share a different spinach recipe, I will ask her to check this site.

    I will try myself too.

  8. Suganya August 15, 2007 at 10:45 am #

    I have never eaten spinach with plantains. Nice one..

  9. Dee August 15, 2007 at 11:42 am #

    Hey anusha. Nice dish.. I love the combo of both!

  10. Erin August 15, 2007 at 2:15 pm #

    I never would have put this together, but now I have to try it. It looks fantastic!

  11. Raaga August 16, 2007 at 2:34 am #

    I’d have never thought these two items could be paired. I have to try it sometime.

    Thanks 🙂

  12. Shree August 21, 2007 at 8:20 pm #

    hey very nice recipe.. have banana in my fridge will try it out today 🙂

Leave a Reply

