Kala Chana Patoli

22 Jun

nallasenagala_patoli
Senagala Patoli

Ingredients:

Kala Chana 1/2 cup
Garlic pods 4
Red chillies 3-5
Salt to taste
Oil 2-4tbsps

Talimpu:

Mustard seeds 1tsp
Urad dal 1tsp
Curry Leaves 5

Method of preparation:

Soak kala chana overnight in 2 cups of water.
Make a coarse paste out of soaked kala chana, half of garlic, red chillies and salt.

Heat oil in a non stick pan, add other half of garlic, mustard seeds, urad dal, curry leaves.
When garlic turns light brown, add above ground kala chana paste.
Stir fry continuously until all the water evaporates.

Serve with rice and pure ghee.

Notes: Patoli is traditionally made dry without any moisture.

9 Responses to “Kala Chana Patoli”

  1. Jyothi June 22, 2007 at 8:45 am #

    Hi Raji, looks perfect. How you know all these recipes. Really perfect and delicious. I love the green salad too. Thanks for sharing such wonderful and delightful recipes.

  2. Asha June 22, 2007 at 10:09 am #

    Anusha,they look like Garbanzo/Chole beans there in the photos,not Kala/brownish red chana.Are you sure you meant Kala chana?
    Dish looks delicious.I love both chanas,they taste great.Thanks Patholi.I am packing for vacation,see you on Wednesday:))

  3. anusharaji June 22, 2007 at 11:57 am #

    @jyothi thx. i dont know most of the recipes. this one is my grandmas spl. but she does with chana dal. i just wanted to see how it comes out with kala chana(i luv them).
    green salad is try out as well. i heard that capsicums and cucumbers can be chopped finely for a salad. i added other two to make my own salad. it is heaven btw šŸ˜†
    @asha kala chana are soaked overnight….so the color
    have loads of fun. šŸ˜‰

  4. Linda June 22, 2007 at 4:23 pm #

    Anusha, omg, this is the same gal who had ‘green gram dal bhaji’ way back when on another blog called My Cuisine!??! I had noooo idea you were the same person till I was just going through old links and came across the old post. I found that so long ago when I first was blogging and I wanted to ask you that recipe — but the blog wouldn’t let me comment. Now I can check for it here! šŸ™‚

    Kala chana patoli is new to me, but I love kala chana so will certainly try sometime. Looks lovely! šŸ™‚

  5. Dee June 22, 2007 at 4:45 pm #

    I think this is a great dish raji. I have lots of kala chana at home. May be I should try this. thanks for the recipe!

  6. anusharaji June 25, 2007 at 7:06 am #

    @linda šŸ˜† s i am. u remember me by green gram dal bhaji? šŸ™‚ so welcome back šŸ˜‰
    @dee you should deepika……let me know how u like it.

  7. Laalitya August 29, 2007 at 3:31 pm #

    I am alergic to most of the dals…sanaga pappu, pesara pappu, chole beans except the kommu sanagalu that are in dark brown color.

    Are these the same ones? You know the ones we use for Ganesh pooja prasadam sometimes?
    Could you please let me know? If yes I am definetely going to try this…this could be one more source of protien that I can eat among dals. Thanks!

  8. anusharaji August 29, 2007 at 10:15 pm #

    s i guess…..vayanalu istaru kada ee senagalatho.
    u can try it
    n ur name sounds fresh to me…..what does that mean? laalitya

  9. Laalitya August 30, 2007 at 7:57 am #

    šŸ˜€ thanks Anu! weekend try chesthanu

    Laalitya ante…lalithamu ga ani…I guess delicate or something similar.
    this is not my actual name though.

Leave a Reply

