Paala Thalikalu

13 Jun

pala_thalikalu
Paala Thalikalu

Ingredients:

Rice flour 1 cup
Milk 3-4 cups
Jaggery 1/ cup-1 cup

Method of preparation:

Boil 1 cup of water. Add rice flour and mix thoroughly without any big lumps.
Cool it down to room temperature and knead it into soft dough.

Take 1/4th of rice dough and mix it well with some milk into thick running paste.
With the remaining rice dough do the following
Make 1/2 inch balls using your palms.
You can also make 1-2 inch long cylinders out of the rice dough.

Boil milk until it gets hot.
Add the thick paste we made out of 1/4th of the rice dough.
Boil it for 3 minutes and then add the rice flour balls or cylinders or both.
Let them boil till float and then remove from heat.
Now add jaggery and mix well.
Serve either hot or cold.

Notes: To make this more flowy, add more milk. Garnish with cardamom powder if you like.

17 Responses to “Paala Thalikalu”

  1. Suma Gandlur June 13, 2007 at 8:09 am #

    I have never tried them though heard about them. They are looking absolutely delicious.

  2. seena June 13, 2007 at 9:16 am #

    Seems very easy to try..loved it..we have a different version of this..

  3. Asha June 13, 2007 at 9:37 am #

    This is very unusual too Anusha.Sounds like Phirni but with Rice balls.I can imagine the taste,YUM! My kids like Rice pudding,I will try this.
    For RCI,try making Amti,easy and quick.

  4. Ramya June 13, 2007 at 9:40 am #

    Hi,
    First time in ur blog.i used to make this but we will in different name.Thanks for sharing. πŸ˜›

  5. Prasad Panthanghi June 13, 2007 at 11:59 am #

    idi vinayaka chaviti ki chestaru kadhaa ….. peru gurtu ravatledu …… Yummy Yummy …. πŸ™‚

  6. Dee June 13, 2007 at 3:58 pm #

    My mom loves them raji.. great pics as usual but quite some work in the kitchen , she says its worth the toil!

  7. Coffee June 13, 2007 at 7:06 pm #

    Thats something new to me! πŸ™‚ Sounds like eating steamed/boiled sweetened rice ball right?

    I am sure it worth all the effort πŸ˜€

  8. sia June 14, 2007 at 1:57 am #

    yes…yes…yes… i absolutely love this akki unde payasa as we call and my granny is the best cook when it comes to this πŸ˜› i remeber the days when we kids used to sit on the floor and make these small rice balls…lovely pic raji… beautiful presentation as usual πŸ˜›

  9. Vani June 14, 2007 at 11:09 am #

    Oh My God! πŸ˜€ This is my favorite dessert in the entire world!! This used to be THE sweet to offer to guests in Guntur until few years back. I still make it once a month. In our family, everybody knows how to make this πŸ™‚ I do put some sabudana (saggubiyyam). Are you from Guntur area? πŸ˜•

  10. anusharaji June 15, 2007 at 6:41 am #

    @suma gandlur thx. do let me know if u try
    @seena what is it?
    @asha do try. this is andhra traditional recipe.
    @ramya welcome πŸ™‚ n thx n whats this called?
    @prasad panthanghi pala vundralla?
    @dee my grandma does it for almost every festival. n s ur mom is right
    @cofee u r right…..
    @sia thx….i used to help my grandma….big balls less time….thats my strategy those days πŸ˜†
    @vani nothing beats my grandmas recipe vani πŸ™‚
    i am from bhimavaram. heard of it? btw get me the recipe for guntur gongura pacchadi sometime πŸ˜‰

  11. Archana June 17, 2007 at 6:00 pm #

    Mhhh, Pal kozhukatta !! But Paala Thalikalu sounds even better. I love this dessert. See, I just galloped over to your blog to catch up with your posts. Welcome aboard !

  12. Rajani August 23, 2007 at 8:57 am #

    Anusha, I came to your website by an accident, now it’s a habit to check your website here and there… you have some simple awesome recopies, I like your website simple and elegant… yeah Palathalikalu my grandma was an expert but I never made it… I will try your recipe.

  13. sri November 12, 2007 at 11:36 pm #

    Thank you for this wonderful recipe. Nice photo. Thank you for sharing

  14. Neeharika August 20, 2009 at 5:09 pm #

    Hi
    I came across your blog when i was searching for Palathalikalu recipe.My grandmother used to make this for Vinayaka Chavithi.Thanks for sharing such a nice recipe

  15. kanya anand August 27, 2009 at 10:12 pm #

    this site is very very nice there r many good recipes thank you verymuch

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mango Pala Thalikalu » Talimpu - May 14, 2010

    […] are too big, they take more time to cook in the milk. Variations: A traditional version of palathalikalu. Few pinches of cardamom powder or a very small pinch of saffron can also be added to the boiling […]

  2. Badam and Rice Kheer » Talimpu - Indian Food Recipes - September 15, 2012

    […] are too big, they take more time to cook in the milk. Variations: A traditional version of palathalikalu. Other Names: Badam Pappu Pala Thalikalu, Badam and Rice […]

Leave a Reply

