Red Chilli Chutney

12 Jun

redchilli_chutney
Pandu Mirapakayala Pacchadi

Ingredients:

Pandu Mirapakayalu/ Fresh Red Chillies/ Fresno Pepper 3
Tamarind 1 inch sized ball
Fenugreek seeds 1tbsp
Hing/ Asafoetida 1/2 tsp
Salt to taste
Oil 1 tsp

Method of preparation:

Without oil, roast fenugreek seeds in a pan and grind them into powder.
Soak tamarind in little bit of water water to extract the juice.

Wash peppers thoroughly and pat them dry.
Remove stems and halve them.
Heat oil in a pan, add sliced peppers and saute for a minute or two.
Let it cool down to room temperature.

Grind fried peppers, ground fenugreek seeds, tamarind extract, hing and salt into coarse paste.
Serve with rice, dosa or chapati.

Notes: You can do the talimpu with mustard seeds if you wish.

11 Responses to “Red Chilli Chutney”

  1. Asha June 12, 2007 at 7:55 am #

    Ah..!!!! HOT! ;D

    I love it,good accompaniment for yogurt rice.Beautiful color too.

  2. Priya June 12, 2007 at 8:19 am #

    I just love this chutney and its one of the things I miss staying away from home. Are these chillies sold as Fresno peppers in all grocery stores here ?? Where can I find them otherwise ?

  3. Dee June 12, 2007 at 11:52 am #

    Hey I love this Pickle. Mom just sent it from India. I missed a whole lot on this site.

  4. seena June 12, 2007 at 5:41 pm #

    Hi Anusha,
    thanks for visiting my site..what a wonderful blog is yours with beautiful pictures..! Loved it, will visit it regularly..

  5. Kajal June 12, 2007 at 6:03 pm #

    Very nice photo………..In India fresh red chilli come in winter i see your recipe and copy in book so i try it in winter bcoz I love spicy chutney to much. πŸ˜›
    Thanks for sharing wonderful recipe of chutney.
    Good day πŸ˜†

  6. anusharaji June 12, 2007 at 10:18 pm #

    @asha it tastes great with almost anything πŸ˜‰
    @priya it depends on exactly where you live. you can ask for fresno peppers btw.
    @dee cool. whats her recipe?
    @seena thx for dropping by. am glad u like my blog. do visit πŸ™‚
    @kajal thx a lot. if ever u lose ur book. check back here πŸ™‚
    good day to u too.

  7. Coffee June 12, 2007 at 10:44 pm #

    Not thats an awesome colour!!! πŸ™‚ And what a pic!! πŸ™‚

  8. Vani June 14, 2007 at 7:27 pm #

    Absolutely great picture!!! Love the color. Where did u manage to get such beautifully ripe red chilies?

  9. Nirmala June 15, 2007 at 10:45 pm #

    Ahsa, this is the first time I am visitng your site. The photos are awesome. I am new blogger and your tips on photograph is really good. The recipe collection you have also is guide good. When u find time give a look at mine. http://passionatetrials.wordpress.com

  10. Priya July 2, 2007 at 11:47 am #

    Hey Raji,
    I tried this one over the weekend and absolutely loved it. I hit myself on the head for not trying it in the last 3 yrs !!! It was so easy to make and I had to laugh at myself for cribbing with my mom to send me some from home :))
    Thank you soo much for the recipe, a Thanks from all my friends here too πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Spice Cafe » Blog Archive » Preserve it! - August 1, 2007

    […] Priya’s Red Chili Pickle from Talimpu […]

Leave a Reply

