Poha Laddu

6 Jun

atukulu_vunda
Atukulu Vundalu

Ingredients:

Poha/ Atukulu 2 cups
Dry Coconut 3×3 inch piece
Roasted bengal gram/ Putnala pappu/ Dalia 1/2 cup
Jaggery/ Metthani Bellam 1 cup
Milk as required

Method of preparation:

Grind poha into somewhat fine powder.
Cut dry coconut into small pieces and grind it into fine powder.
Grind bhuna chana/gulla senagapappu into fine powder.
Mash hard jaggery into fine powder with pestle.
Add more jaggery according to your taste buds.

Combine ground poha, ground dry coconut, ground bhuna chana/ roasted split chickpeas and ground jaggery in a deep vessel. Add enough milk to make round balls out of the mixture.
Store tightly and refrigerate to stay for weeks.

Notes: Dont forget to grind poha little bit coarsely while making this laddu.

14 Responses to “Poha Laddu”

  1. sowji June 6, 2007 at 7:25 am #

    hi,
    I never heard about poha laddu. Its great recipe

  2. neelima June 6, 2007 at 7:32 am #

    Looks great and easy. this is going to be my sweet for my next party.thx for the tip.

  3. Asha June 6, 2007 at 10:49 am #

    I am Heerrree!!!;D

    See,I have to wait for my blogroll to pop up your post and then I will be here in a flash!!
    Poha Laddu look really good.I have never used Poha to make Laddus but my grandmother makes Payasa with it,which I love.Thanks for this:)

  4. anusharaji June 6, 2007 at 11:30 am #

    @sowji thx for stopping by. πŸ™‚
    @neelima it sure is easy and sweet. do let me know how ur party went πŸ˜‰
    @asha my grandmas recipe once again. people stuff this in kajji kaya at times ofcourse without poha in it. get me ur payasam recipe asha. it sounds yummy πŸ™‚
    btw one day i vl post the first comment on ur post 😎

  5. cc johnson mumbai June 14, 2007 at 8:36 am #

    never ever heard of poha ladoo. but finally this may end up tasting like a rice/chana ladoo. lets try…

  6. RAJA June 17, 2008 at 12:03 am #

    I DIDN’T LIKE THE SWEET

  7. kinnari p. September 7, 2008 at 7:32 am #

    never heard of pohaladoo. will try

  8. p.m.vijayalakshmi January 3, 2009 at 4:12 am #

    I NEVER HEARD OF POHADOO I WILL TRY

  9. Rohetha Maharaj February 5, 2009 at 7:41 am #

    please tell me what the english name of Poha/ Atukulu and Putnala pappu is.
    I would like to try this luddo

  10. anusharaji February 6, 2009 at 9:20 am #

    poha – flattened rice
    check out image of putnala pappu from the following link
    http://www.talimpu.com/2008/01/19/dalia-coconut-chutney/
    check out glossary for more cooking terms
    http://www.talimpu.com/2005/09/07/cooking-glossary/

  11. Mohini Prabhu October 18, 2009 at 9:56 pm #

    Quite amazed about your site !! It is really wonderful. You can get any recipes you like /want/prefer. Am just going to try your Laddo recipes. Shall post comments later.

    Tried Poteto/Baigan fry recipe. Okay!!!

    Warm regards
    Mohini

  12. Raji October 20, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    @Mohini Prabhu Am so pleased you liked the site. thx for trying out potato / baingan fry. I love this laddu. Do try and let me know.

  13. vani February 22, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    if we roast the poha(atukulu) it will give anice flavour &taste.

  14. b.selvambal October 31, 2011 at 2:49 am #

    poha as in tamil it is pori urundai. very ancient dish good for childrens.

Leave a Reply

